A boy and his truck.

P1330236“You can set my truck on fire, and roll it down a hill, And I still wouldn’t trade it for a Coupe DeVille I’ve got an eight-foot bed that never has to be made You know if it weren’t for trucks we wouldn’t have tailgates” Pickup Man by Joe Diffie

My father owned several vehicles when I was growing up including a 1957 Chevy. The 1957 Chevy was the one car he always regretted getting rid of and always talked about buying another one. In fact his password for many things was 57chevy2doorcoupe. Though the vehicles that stood out to me were the ones from my later years, the trucks.

He had this old Chevy truck that had rust everywhere and was basically falling apart body wise. That’s the vehicle we moved from Kentucky with. We owned a station wagon and that truck. I learned to drive on a 3/4 ton Chevy pickup it was green and brown and it had a 350 4 bolt main in it. It would flat out fly, I know I jumped tracks with it shortly after getting my license.

P1330383

The truck he got that he kept for years was one he bought off my uncle. A 1984 Chevy s-10 extended bed. He put over 300,000 miles on that truck before trading it in on a newer s10. His trucks were the first vehicles I truly fell in love with. It was the fact that you could haul things and help people, but there was a bigger aspect I loved about his truck.

I loved that it was intimate. When you sit in the cab of a truck it feels more intimate then a car to me. It seemed you got to know your driver or passenger more that way and the fact that it was a truck made it feel more personal and less formal. You get to have a different kind of conversation in a truck. Whenever I borrowed dad’s truck, my wife would slide over to the middle to be closer to me and feel more connected.

P1330163

I also think of people more down to earth when I think of a truck, farmers, construction workers, and just people less worried about image and more concerned with a dirt road, country, and helping people. So for years I have wanted a truck.   When I was young I wanted a 57 corvette that was my dream car. Though that changed to wanting an extended or crew cab truck.

Though with having a family a truck was not an ideal choice and with our money it really wasn’t. The last two vehicles I owned were both vans I got from my in-laws. The 97 astro I fell in love with it was on an s-10 body and it was my truck for many years. It had 240,000 miles on when I let it go but even at 240k the engine sounded perfect.

I got my first taste of my own truck when my daughter wrecked the kid’s car. I bought an s-10 and let her use the town and country. The s-10 needed a lot of work and the only thing really good on it is the drive train but it accomplished my daughter having a safe vehicle and a truck for me that at least got me to work.

P1330169“When within yourself you find the road, the right road will open.” ― Dejan Stojanovic

On my father’s birthday this year I got to buy a truck that I wanted. It’s the first vehicle for myself that I chose in years. One that wasn’t out of necessity like the s-10 or a hand me down from my in-laws. It was one I took the time to find, feel good about, and choose. I found it appropriate that I bought it on my father’s birthday. Though he would disagree with the make of the truck. It’s a Ford and as you may have guessed he was a Chevy man.

I made a post after buying the truck that I dubbed it Blue Thunder. It’s a dark almost midnight blue 99 Ford F150 extended cab with 160k on it. It’s a beautiful truck and I connected with it first time I saw it. I know a little funny that I say I connected with the vehicles that I truly enjoyed I had a connection. My 81 Riviera, 97 Chevy astro, and now this 99 F-150.

I’m sure some people didn’t understand why I was so ecstatic about buying a used truck but I don’t need a new truck to be happy. This truck fits me and is something I’ve wanted for years. The only thing that it misses is an off-road package but that is more something I’d like and I’m happy with being blessed with what I was able to get.

P1330302“The Road goes ever on and on,Down from the door where it began. Now far ahead the Road has gone, And I must follow,

if I can, Pursuing it with eager feet, Until it joins some larger way Where many paths and errands meet. And whither then? I cannot say”  ― J.R.R. Tolkien, The Fellowship of the Ring

After buying the truck I started getting antsy about getting it out and spending some time by myself. I’m mostly an introvert. I interact well one on one or small groups but too much interaction taps me. Normally how I refuel is nature and time by myself. Something my wife sort of understands, but she accepts it. I truly appreciate and love better after I’ve had time to get out on my own a little.

So my daughter and I changed out the state of the art cassette head unit for something that while not as state of the art has cd, Bluetooth, and xm radio. After that the truck and I left for the day. I drove up to the bird sanctuary and spent time taking pictures then on up the river road to Pere Marquette a truly lovely drive along the river. It helped to get away.

Then yesterday the truck and I left again and went on a drive to southern Illinois just south of Murphysboro along route 3. We found a nice gravel one lane road that took us up the bluff to various scenic overlooks. I could feel the layers of stress and anxiety just peel away as I jammed to the xm radio and just enjoyed the road and nature. It was magical.

P1330315“Life is not always perfect. Like a road, it has many bends, ups and down, but that’s its beauty.”
― Amit Ray

The way I destress is with alone time and the s-10 I didn’t trust enough to get out and about with. This truck I trust and truly enjoy. So I can pace myself again. For the first time in months I had my camera with me and just nature and God. We did a trip earlier last month to waterfalls in Tennessee which I had my camera and that was nice, but there is something truly freeing about being alone on backroads or in nature with just you, a vehicle, the radio, and God.

So I’ll finish by saying….Truck Yeah!!!

Thank you for your time and I hope you have a wonderful day.

I apologize for any grammar errors. My editor (my lovely wife) was not available to edit and point out the error of my grammar usage. 🙂

P1330329“I find it wholesome to be alone the greater part of the time. To be in company, even with the best, is soon wearisome and dissipating. I love to be alone. I never found the companion that was so companionable as solitude.”
― Henry David Thoreau,

Leave a Reply

Member of The Internet Defense League

